Analogical Thinking

I must say I completely see eye to eye with Davis in week 8s reading on analogical thinking. Davis stating that “when we think analogically (metaphorically) we take ideas (or words) from one context and apply them in a new context”. From my past creative learning experiences and personal art practice to acknowledging them everywhere in the creative world. Analogical thinking is a prosperous way to be creative and design.

Previously I studied fashion, for the most part I enjoyed it and I retain information about the importance of being stimulated by something else. Always collecting images from magazine cut outs and making story boards which somewhat looked like collages.
Architecture and clothes designed are spoken about in the same heading, for using the identical analogical strategy for coming up with design concepts, funnily enough as a fashion student we would do numerous amounts of architecture inspired garments.

As a design student it was also important to show where you got your idea from, so you would always be referencing another context. For me I felt it was taking something and turning into my own, and generally the end result would be fabricating something innovative and inventive. Although one of the rules was that we weren’t allowed to have fashion images to motivate as the outcome would be something second hand and unoriginal.

In relation to the reading content about young artists being worried to use analogical thinking as a creating process, I feel that as a young person you want to be as original as possible in your work. Maybe so people notice you, or naive to the workings of a creative mind. Once they realise that being inspired by something is not a breach of copyright I am sure they can reach a higher rate of success.

In the circumstance of turning a book into a film, it is still analogical thinking in the sense that it is the film maker’s interpretation of the book. Sadly I find them always a disappointment as I imagined them when reading a lot different and then I guess you have to take into consideration that you can fit so much into a movie timeslot whilst books are often loads juicier in content and my imagination is awesome.

The way cartoonist use analogical thinking is clever, by referencing something else and turning it into humour. Especially in the cases of a serious issue because I feel we often take things too seriously. Sometimes we live in a depressing and if someone can formulate a grim subject and turn it into something that can make you silently chuckle to yourself when you read it, then yes I praise them a creative genius.

Overall I enjoyed Davis’s reading, as well as a good giggle. Not only could I relate but now I believe that I have a greater understanding in how to stimulate my creativity and give birth to more creative masterpieces.

Analogical Thinking
Davis, G. A. (2004). Creative inspiration through
analogical thinking. Creativity is forever (pp.
145-170). (5th Ed.). USA: Kendell/Hunt.

Leave a comment